Friday, February 24, 2017

Daniel Herskedal - The Roc (EDITION RECORDS 2017)

Over the last 2 years, Daniel Herskedal, Helge Andreas Norbakken and Eyolf Dale (also on Edition) have defined themselves as one of the most unique and innovative small ensembles in Europe today, bringing together a vast mix of influences from Folk, Jazz, Classical and Arabic music.

The sublime Slow Eastbound Train, released in 2015, took Herskedal’s international profile to new heights. He toured extensively throughout Europe and Japan, culminating in a 26min commission from the BBC Concert Orchestra, performed at London Jazz Festival 2016.

A strong Arabic influence runs throughout The Roc, which has its roots in inspiring trips Herskedal made to Syria, Lebanon and Palestine. Themes of place and travelling are ever-present, as they were on Slow Eastbound Train.

The titles of some of the compositions originate from the names of scales (Kurd, Bayat, Nahawand To Kurd) and rhythms (Thuraaya) used in them; others from Arabic sayings (There Are Three Things You Cannot Hide; Love, Smoke And A Man Riding On A Camel) and places that inspired the musicians (Hijaz Train Station). The title of the LP itself is a reference to the great bird of pan-Asian mythology.

01. The Seeds of Language 4:46
02. The Roc 5:28
03. Eternal Sunshine Creates A Desert 4:19
04. Kurd, Bayat, Nahawand To Kurd 4:46
05. Hijaz Train Station 3:20
06. Thurayya Railways 6:31
07. The Afrit 3:22
08. There Are Three Things You Cannot Hide; Love, Smoke And A Man Riding On A Camel 5:01
09. The Krøderen Line 5:52
10. All That Has Happened, Happened As Fate Willed 4:50

All music by Daniel Herskedal

Daniel Herskedal - tuba and bass trumpet
Bergmund Waal Skaslien - viola
Svante Henryson - cello
Eyolf Dale - piano
Helge Andreas Norbakken - percussion