Wednesday, November 2, 2016

Stefan Aeby Trio - To the Light (INTAKT RECORDS 2016)

Acclaimed Swiss pianist and composer Stefan Aeby presents with his trio his debut on Intakt Records as a bandleader.

His excellent new album "to the light" with bass player André Pousaz and drummer Michi Stulz has a clear, unique identity.

The trio follows a free vision of minimal sound art, leaving space and time to react to each other, and to revel in the sounds.

Florian Keller writes in the liner notes: "To build their multi-layered sound architecture, these three music fanatics avoid the weight of the monumental, instead using their atmospheric musicianship to create a soundtrack for the poetry of the unobtrusive.

The magic of this expansive music lies in a courageous aesthetic of modesty, which favours fine-fingered sensitivity over the muscular gestures of musical high-performance sport, and thus a statement against the thundering excesses of spectacle. Yet this graceful sonic art is indeed spectacular in its filigree way. 

Unpretentiously, the trio have cultivated a kind of gallant tiptoe. The principle is to play softly and generate tension walking on velvet paws. This urgent ensemble music often creates its magic through a calmness bordering on silence."

01. stalden 6:22
02. to the light 8:38
03. knabautsch 4:26
04. hmmm 7:12
05. iuk 5:37
06. the good king 6:05
07. shi 5:20
08. the wheel 8:32