Thursday, October 27, 2016

Honey Ear Trio - Swivel (2016)

Brooklyn's Honey Ear Trio — Jeff Lederer on saxophone, Rene Hart on upright bass & electronics/looping and Allison Miller on drums — have their powerful and unique take on the saxophone trio. As sidemen they've performed with artists ranging form Dr. Lonnie Smith, Bill McHenry and Branford Marsalis to Pete Seeger, James Hunter and Ani Difranco. As a trio they are creative and explosive, drawing from many genres and combining acoustic instruments with subtle electronics. 

"Their remarkable chemistry in this extremely elastic acoustic trio setting is further enhanced by Hart's creative use of electronics..." - Bill Milkowski, JazzTimes 

"...always an infectious energy, melodic joy, and sense of fun." -Peter Margasak, The Chicago Reader

Releases October 21, 2016

01. Arby 04:34
02. Silent Stairs
03. New Work
04. Evidence
05. Changeling
06. Lullaby 03:43
07. Squeaky Toy
08. Stanley's Package
09. Because
10. Speak Eddie
11. Falling

w/ special guest Kirk Knuffke on Cornet

"Silent Stairs" - Honey Ear Trio: Jeff Lederer, Rene Hart, Allison Miller from Honey Ear Trio on Vimeo.