Monday, May 23, 2016

Matthew Halsall - One the Go (Special Edition) 2016 (GONDWANA RECORDS)


We are very happy to announce, that due to popular demand, Matthew Halsall’s 2011 award-winning album, ON THE GO, is being issued for the first time on vinyl (2xLP), including three (never heard before) bonus tracks. The album has been specially remixed and remastered by Matthew Halsall and George Atkins at 80 Hertz. The release will be available on LP/CD/DL formats. 

WINNER OF THE BEST JAZZ ALBUM OF THE YEAR - Gilles Peterson Worldwide Awards, 2012 

Nominated Best Jazz Album MOBO Awards, 2011 

"If I could watch any jazz band in the UK, any, I would choose Matthew Halsall's band, just love what he's been doing over the last few years... It's always high level, spiritual jazz music" Gilles Peterson - BBC Radio 1 

"An exciting British jazz artist" Jamie Cullum - BBC Radio 2 

"Lovely record that deepens with every listen" The Independent on Sunday 

“On The Go is a strikingly original and fiercely contemporary record – the product of a musician who openly acknowledges his influences but filters them through his own 21st century sensibility to create jazz that’s fresh but also, paradoxically, familiar and timeless” Mojo Magazine 

“On The Go is superb, a finely-crafted, emotionally and spiritually engaging work that stands comparison with anything the jazz world currently has to offer, and with plenty of the finest from the jazz world's past” All About Jazz 

“A very beautiful album with fantastic, thoughtful performances from all involved” Blues and Soul Magazine 

“This is cool retro jazz with buckets of contemporary invention and Northern soul” Metro Newspaper 

“A gem of an album from trumpeter Matthew Halsall – his third on the Gondawa label, and like all the others, a set that we'd easily rank right up there with the best 70s spiritual jazz on labels like Strata East or Black Jazz!” Dusty Groove 

“Matthew’s easily the brightest star in UK jazz right now” Echoes Magazine 

Released May 20, 2016

Special Edition Compact Disc
Compact Disc (CD)
Compact disc version of the album in a jewel case.


01. Music for a Dancing Mind
02. Song for Charlie
03. The End of Dukkha
04. Samatha
05. The Journey Home
06. The Move
07. Only You (Bonus Track)
08. Singing Everyday (Bonus Track)
09. Breathless (Bonus Track) 

Includes unlimited streaming of On The Go (Special Edition) via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.


Matthew Halsall, trumpet
Nat Birchall, saxophone
Adam Fairhall, piano
Gavin Barra, bass
Gaz Hughe, drums
Rachael Gladwi, harp (on track 4)

All tracks composed by Matthew Halsall. Recorded by Brendan Williams. Mixed & Mastered by George Atkins at 80 Hertz

Photos by Simon Hunt. Graphic design by Daniel Halsall


The End of Dukkha