Thursday, April 28, 2016

Kevin Golden Trio - Pelham Parkway (2016)

Label: Self Released
 Source: Cdbaby

Pelham Parkway captures the Kevin Golden Trio performing 7 originals penned by Kevin Golden in the tradition of the guitar/organ trio reminiscent of the style of the legendary Grant Green. Kevin Golden is on guitar, along with Akiko Tsuruga on organ, and Peter Grant on drums. The session was recorded at the legendary Tedesco Studios in Paramus, NJ, by Tommy Tedesco in February 2016.

Golden is a long time journeyman of the NYC and Hudson Valley NY jazz scene and has been playing jazz for over 27 years in the Hudson Valley and greater NYC area. He often plays with the Steve Kaiser Quartet in the NYC club scene. Guitarist Golden style is influenced by Grant Green, Rene Thomas, and Joshua Breakstone. Golden is also the guitarist for Michael’s Jazz Quartet on the recording "Woody-n-Me" released in 2007 and is co-author of song "Golden Opportunity", 2nd place winner in 2008 Independent Music Awards for Jazz Song of the Year. Golden also wrote "Say What You Mean", which was chosen as an All About Jazz website "Download of the Day", and is currently available online under the Steve Kaiser Quartet.

Akiko Tsuruga (aka "Queen of the Jazz Organ") has been a mainstay on the New York jazz scene since 2001. Akiko has released five albums in Japan and four in the U.S. Both of her first two US releases, “Sweet and Funky” and “Oriental Express” (18th & Vine Records), have ranked within top 20 on the national jazz radio charts.

Akiko has been regular on the DownBeat magazine critics poll since 2008. In 2012, she placed 6th in the Rising Star category of the magazine along with ranking in the readers poll. DownBeat Magazine and Keyboard Magazine have featured articles on Akiko. Her third US album, “Sakura” released in 2012 scored 7th on the national Jazz radio chart. Her latest album, “Commencement”, released on August 20th, 2014 both in the U.S. and in Japan, ranked 4th in the Jazz Week Chart.

Drummer Peter Grant was born and raised in New York City and studied at the Manhattan School of Music. Peter is a creative and versatile musician who has been in demand in the New York recording studios and clubs for 35 years. He has performed in venues ranging from Carnegie Hall to the Blue Note to Royal Albert Hall, the Mount Fuji Jazz Festival in Japan, the Monterey Jazz Festival and the White House.

Grant has played on over 40 recordings with such artists as Gerry Mulligan , Peggy Lee , New York Voices , Harvie Swartz and Rodney Jones. Live performance credits include gigs with Astrud Gilberto, Peter Cincotti, Ben E. King, Dave Samuels and European tours with Bob Dorough and Linda Hopkins.

1. Market Square
2. Let's Do This
3. JJ's Smove Groove
4. Pelham Parkway
5. Where Are They Now
6. Let's Make the Time
7. Cherry Pie

Kevin Golden (guitar)
Akiko Tsuruga (organ)
Peter Grant (drums)