Tuesday, March 15, 2016

John Zorn - Flaga Book of Angels, Volume 27 - Flaga (2016)

Source & Label: Tzadik

For one of the last CDs in the Book of Angels series Zorn has put together an astonishing all-star piano trio featuring three of the most powerful and respected musicians in the jazz/new music scene: Craig Taborn, Christian McBride and Tyshawn Sorey. Diving into eight tunes from Zorn’s mystical Masada project they take off in flights of melodic, rhythmic and harmonic fancy that will make your head spin. Visceral and virtuosic, Flaga is one of the most spontaneous and exciting installments in the Masada catalog. 

1. Machnia
2. Peliel
3. Katzfiel
4. Talmai take 1
5. Shoftiel
6. Agbas
7. Rogziel
8. Harbonah
9. Talmai take 2

Craig Taborn: Piano
Christian McBride: Double Bass
Tyshawn Sorey: Drums