Tuesday, January 5, 2016

Jerry Weldon - On The Move! (2016)

Label: Doodlin' Records
Source: MVD

Jerry Weldon is one of today's leading proponents of Soul Jazz who represents the 'bar-walkin', hard-blowing, tenor legends in our contemporary American Jazz scene. Jerry's tenure with the Lionel Hampton Band in the early 80's gave him the experience of his life: developing his performance skills and creating within him the energy and motivation to perform this great music for discriminating audiences worldwide. Today, Jerry continues his big band showmanship with the Harry Connick, Jr. Band where he is featured as a leading instrumentalist in various tunes and in several stage acts. Rarely heard on the west coast with his own bands, Jerry was brought to the west coast by the Jazz Organ Fellowship organization and teamed for this recording with a former Jimmy Smith guitarist, Steve Homan; the original drummer from Herbie Hancock's 'Head-Hunters', Mike Clark; and the remarkable jazz organist from Columbus, Ohio, once hailed as the 'next great Jazz Organist', Bobby Pierce. This stellar group was assembled at the 25th Street Recording Studio in Oakland, CA on Monday, August 10th 2015 and given ample time to discuss the particulars and experience the camaraderie . Tune selection for this recording was done by Jerry himself, from the Illinois Jacquet classic, 'Black Velvet', to the Meredith Willson classic, 'Till There Was You', made popular by Paul McCartney and the Beatles. The simpatico between these musicians was instantaneous as the groove was there from the onset and the shared love of Soul Jazz was evident in each track. Adding greatness to the ever-increasing list of contemporary jazz organ recordings, Jerry's 'On The Move!' will serve to strengthen his reputation as a top-shelf jazz performer and recording star, as well as, span the love for his music from coast to coast. Whether he is rockin' a room in Harlem or reelin' back his horn in an Oakland club, Jerry Weldon is the real deal with energy to spare while he's "On The Move!"

1 Do You Know a Good Thing When You See One?
2 Black Velvet
3 Donald Duck
4 Stringin' the Jug
5 You've Changed
6 There Are Such Things
7 Till There Was You
8 On the Move!

Jerry Weldon - sax
Steve Homan - guitar
Mike Clark - drums
Bobby Pierce - hammond