Tuesday, May 8, 2018

Todd Marcus - On These Streets (a Baltimore Story) 2018

Since 1997 Marcus has lived a double life as a community activist and leader of the west Baltimore nonprofit Intersection of Change, while also carving out a career as one of the world’s preeminent jazz bass clarinetists. His album On These Streets offers a musical portrait of his neighborhood of 20 plus years which was thrust into the national spotlight in 2015 due to the civil unrest following the death of fellow community resident Freddie Gray.

Self taught in jazz theory and composition, Marcus’ straight-ahead playing has carved out a unique voice for the bass clarinet in modern jazz. The New York Times writes, “Mr. Marcus is probably the most inventive bass clarinetist working in straight-ahead jazz today…[and] lives in Baltimore, where he is a guiding light on the city’s jazz scene who doubles as an activist and organizer.”

While the New Jersey native’s work over recent years has focused extensively on his Egyptian heritage by incorporating Middle Eastern influences in jazz, his current efforts have focused on his experiences at home in Baltimore as On These Streets seeks to portray both the challenges and strengths of his community.

1. On The Corner 08:28
2. An Intersection of Change (Intro) 02:04
3. An Intersection of Change 07:21
4. Ground Zero (at Penn. & North) (Intro) 01:32
5. Ground Zero (at Penn. & North) 08:48
6. I Surrender All (Intro) 00:40
7. I Surrender All 05:14
8. Fear of the Known 06:14
9. PTSD In the Hood (intro) 00:22
10. PTSD In The Hood 05:50
11. Pennsylvania Avenue Hustle (Intro) 01:42
12. Pennsylvania Avenue Hustle 04:55
13. It Still Gets Still (Intro) 00:33
14. It Still Gets Still 06:51
15. Covered In Snow 06:11
16. NJ '88 (Ode to the 80s) 06:20

Warren Wolf - vibraphone & drums
Paul Bollenback - guitar
George Colligan - piano
Kris Funn - bass
Eric Kennedy - drums & vocal