Saturday, May 26, 2018

De Nazaten - Als de haan tanden krijgt... (2018)

This is the sixth CD of De Nazaten and it is solely dedicated to the music of one of their original band members and composers, Robby Alberga. His versatility as composer is apparent in his ability to connect the traditions and roots of music from Guyana, the entire northeast region of South America, with the modern music of today. He utilizes the instrumentation of De Nazaten, borrowed from the traditional instrumentation of the brass bands of Suriname and New Orleans, to produce a fresh and contemporary sound, creating an extraordinary bridge between the wind and the percussion sections.

1 Vruchten Uit Eigen Tuin 5:21
2 De Lok Van Het Dwaalspoor 5:15
3 Als De Haan Tanden Krijgt 7:32
4 Het Mysterie Van De Zonnegod 8:30
5 Switi Smeri, Sweet Perfume 5:59
6 Trobi Soso Trobi 3:58
7 A Tori Fa Gro Pesi 7:50
8 Lafu Ko Lafu 4:35

De Nazaten:
Robby Alberga: guitar
Klaas Hekman: piccolo, soprano, bass saxophone
Carlo Ulrichi Hoop: congas, Surinam percussion
Keimpe de Jong: soprano-, tenor saxophone
Setish Bindraban: trumpet
Jermaine Forster: drums
Chris Semmoh: skratyi, Surinam percussion
Patrick Votrian: trombone, sousaphone
Sharief Wagid Hosain: alto saxophone

All compositions by Robby Alberga. Arrangements 5 and 8 by Sharief Wagid Hosain,
all others by Robby Alberga and Juan Navia. Arrangements for the percussion Jermaine Forster. Compositions made possible by Performing Arts Fund NL.

Recorded in E-sound studio Weesp by Thomas Cochrane and Marc Schots, November 2017. Mixed by Thomas Cochrane, Marc Schots and Robby Alberga, mastered by Ferry Verhoeve.
CD-production DMI Records. Sleeve Hans Nieuwstraten, photos Paula Rennings and Pieter Vlamings of Breda and Marc Schots. This CD was made possible by Voordekunst, the organization for crowdfunding in the creative sector and by Sena.