Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Ari Hoenig - NY Standard (FRESH SOUND NEW TALENT RECORDS 2018)

For his latest album NY Standard, Ari Hoenig pays tribute to the movement and tradition of
playing jazz standards in New York City. Once you learn a song there are so many different
directions and conversations you can have using that song as a starting point. It’s kind of like a
private conversation you can have with other people who know the song. If you don’t know the
song however there will be a lot you will miss.

New York city has brought together people from all over the world. People that would normally
never have the chance to even meet but can speak to each other on a deep level using jazz
standards as the basis for the conversation.

In addition to his work a bandleader, Hoenig is one of the most sought-after sidemen of his
generation. He has appeared on over a hundred recordings and worked with a diverse
spectrum of artists, including guitarists Mike Stern, Pat Martino, Wayne Krantz and Kurt
Rosenwinkel, saxophonists Joshua Redman and Chris Potter, harpist Edmar Castaneda,
bassist / vocalist Richard Bona and many more. He’s developed deep musical relationships
with pianists representing three generations of boundless jazz creativity: Billy Childs, Kenny
Werner, Jean-Michel Pilc and Monk competition winner, Tigran Hamasyan.

01. Boplicity (Davis-Evans) 4:29
02. Bessie's Blues (John Coltrane) 8:31
03. Stablemates (Benny Golson) 6:19
04. Someday My Prince Will Come (Churchill-Morey) 6:21
05. Pent Up House(Sonny Rollins) 5:52
06. In Walked Bud (Thelonious Monk) 7:30
07. Fee Fi Fo Fum (Wayne Shorter) 4:30

Ari Hoenig (drums)
Tivon Pennicott (tenor sax on #5-7)
Gilad Hekselman (guitar on #1-3,5,6)
Tigran Hamasyan (piano on #2)
Shai Maestro (piano on #4,6)
Eden Ladin (piano on #3,5)
Orlando Le Fleming (bass)

Recorded at Peter Karl Studios in Brooklyn, New York, September 2015, except track #2 recorded on January 21, 2010

Recorded, mixed & mastered by Michael Perez-Cisneros
Cover photo by Ilkka Rantamaki

Produced by Ari Hoenig
Executive Producer: Jordi Pujol