Tuesday, April 3, 2018

Dave Liebman - Fire (April 27, 2018)

Saxophonist Dave Liebman put together an all-star cast for Fire: percussionist Jack DeJohnette, bassist Dave Holland, and pianist Kenny Werner. All four have shaped modern jazz during the 1970s and 1980s, and continue to do so today. Fire is a unique and innovative album, recorded in 2016, and released in heavyweight 180gram, gatefold sleeve, and extensive liner notes by Liebman.

1. Flash!! (Liebman, Werner, Holland, DeJohnette)
2. Fire (Liebman)
3. Sparks (Liebman)
4. Flames (Liebman)
5. Inferno (Liebman)
6. Ashes (Liebman)

Dave Liebman (ts, ss, wooden flute, c-flute)
Kenny Werner (p)
Dave Holland (b)
Jack DeJohnette (ds)