Tuesday, January 2, 2018

Vic Juris - Eye Contact (SteepleChase Productions ApS 2018)

Vic Juris has added another guitar trio masterpiece here on his ever-growing body of recorded works. He is joined by bassist Jay Anderson and drummer Adam Nussbaum. 

Since his SteepleChase debut album 'Night Tripper' (SCCD31353) of 1994, guitarist Vic Juris has been presenting unique musical universe of unassuming virtuosity and versatility, of which John Kelman of AllAboutJazz once pertinently described as "fresh, in-the-moment and connected to the broadest possible tradition."

"Vic Plays Victor Young is a sensitive melodically exploratory album of standards and rarely covered airs, as should be expected from a seasoned ensemble with a compatible repertoire." - Howard Mandel - DownBeat ****

1. UNITED (Wayne Shorter) 4:03
2. RUBY (Heinz Roemheld) 7:47
3. I FALL IN LOVE TOO EASILY (Jule Styne) 6:59
4. WEE SEE (Thelonious Monk) 7:21
5. SIM (Vic Juris) 5:02
6. PINOCCHIO (Wayne Shorter) 4:16
7. SWEET AND LOVELY (Gus Arnheim / Harry Tobias / Jules Lemare) 6:46
8. DOMO’S DELIGHT (Vic Juris) 3:41
9. TIME REMEMBERED (Bill Evans) 7:33
10. EYE CONTACT (Vic Juris) 7:29
11. TO LOVE AND BE LOVED (Jimmy Van Heusen) 6:29

Vic Juris (guitar)
Jay Anderson (bass)
Adam Nussbaum (drums)