Tuesday, January 2, 2018

Chris Byars - New York City Jazz (SteepleChase Productions ApS 2018)

Chris Byars, the award winning alto saxophonist, composer, arranger, jazz historian and a 100% native New Yorker set out to "curate the state of jazz to create a sort of time capsule" for this album. What Byars successfully presents here is the genuine creative aspiration that prevails in world's most diverse and competitive artistic environment.

"Chris Byars has done a remarkable job reviving these neglected compositions of Frank Strozier while also putting his own stamp on them with his inventive arrangements." - Ken Dryden, New York City Jazz on (SCCD31824 'The Music of Frank Strozier')

1. Transfiguration
2. Quick Turnaround
3. Dawn in the City
4. Hot Dog
5. No Message
6. Chess
7. Bridge of Locks
8. The General's Song
9. B.G.'s Holiday

Chris Byars (alto saxophone, flute)
John Mosca (trombone)
Stefano Doglioni (bass clarinet)
Pasquale Grasso (guitar)
Ari Roland (bass)
Stefan Schatz (drums)