Friday, January 12, 2018

Pierre de Bethmann Trio - Essais / Vol. 2 (ALÉA January 12, 2018)

Fourth production of the ALEA label, second volume of Pierre de Bethmann’s ESSAIS, two years and nearly sixty concerts after the first volume was released in 2015.

With Sylvain Romano on the double bass and Tony Rabeson on the drums, the trio pursues its journey, gleaning ideas from every new shared experience, continuing its exploration of a variety of musical traditions, subjecting each member’s choices to different arrangements, and above all to the spirit of the moment.

The same spirit which led the three musicians back to the Recall Studio in June 2017 to record their new album, in a setup drawing each time closer to live conditions, in an exceptional setting capable of suspending time and capturing the raw energy of musicians only too eager to play.

All of this results in a selection of ten pieces dating from 1707 to 1985 – written by different composers from the two sides of the Atlantic Ocean – which some will regard as standards.

A new album also conceived as a big thank you to those who programmed, hosted, and supported the trio on its different journeys over the last two years, and to those who will inspire the journeys to come.

01 Miss Ann (Eric Dolphy)
02 Forlane (Tombeau de Couperin) (Maurice Ravel)
03 Começar de Novo (Ivan Guimaraes Lins)
04 Je Bois (Alain Goraguer)
05 Conception (George Shearing)
06 Chant des Partisans (Anna Marly)
07 I remember you (Victor Schertzinger)
08 Lascia la Spina (Georg Friedrich Haendel)
09 You don't know what love is( Gene De Paul)
10 Belle-Ile-en-Mer, Marie-Galante (Laurent Voulzy)

Sylvain Romano bass
Tony Rabeson drums

Recorded by Philippe Gaillot at studio Recall, Pompignan (France), June 27 & 28, 2017

Mixed and mastered at studio Recall par Philippe Gaillot

P2B Trio / Essais - Volume 2 / Teaser from ALEA musique on Vimeo.