Friday, January 19, 2018

Pericopes - What What (UNIT RECORDS 2018)

Saxophonist Emiliano Vernizzi & pianist Alessandro Sgobbio, active as Pericopes since 2007, present an intimate collection of melodic fragments and silences in their sixth new studio album “What What” after touring extensively for over three years in Europe and USA. Pericopes have composed a brand new repertoire between Paris - where they were invited for the Jazz Pas Grave Festival - and a residency in Piemonte (Italy). Pericopes have received several jazz awards, such as the Umbria Jazz Contest, the Padova Carrarese Prize, and a mention at the Italian Top-Jazz « Best group of the year top-list »

1 La Danse Des Holothuries 8:03
2 Tzukiji 11:29
3 Cocteau 7:42
4 Danza Di Kuwa 7:07
5 What What 0:50
6 Martyrlied 09:59
7 The Windmills Trail 1:54
8 Orat 29 7:11
9 The Windmills Trail (Reprise) 3:52

Compositions by Alessandro Sgobbio (1,3,6,8), Emiliano Vernizzi (2,4,7,9), Alessandro Sgobbio & Emiliano Vernizzi (5)
Recorded at ArteSuono Recording Studios, Cavalicco (UD) - Italy
Recording Date: 17,18 September 2013
Studio engineer and mastering by Stefano Amerio