Friday, December 29, 2017

Ben Frost Quartet - Selftitled (2017)

Vancouver’s Ben Frost is an emerging composer/trumpeter whose lyrical approach takes inspiration from traditional jazz as well as contemporary players such as Tom Harrell and Ingrid Jensen. His quartet featuring pianist Jenny Xu, bassist Stephen Edwards, and drummer Miles Wong artfully explores Ben’s emotional and thought-provoking originals.

1. Soho 7:22
2. Little Creatures 7:30
3. JJ 6:16
4. Under Over 7:41
5. Ona 8:15
6. Pete's Seat 6:54

Ben Frost trumpet, flugelhorn
Jenny Xu  piano
Stephen Edwards  bass
Miles Wong  drums