Tuesday, June 13, 2017

Jukka Perko Tritone - Dizzy (WE JAZZ RECORDS 2017)

Alto sax man Jukka Perko, one of Finland's leading jazz artists, presents a new project Tritone, where he joins forces with the dynamic rhythm section of Antti Lötjönen and Teppo Teddy Rok Mäkynen (who have appeared together in projects such as Teddy's West Coasters, The Five Corners Quintet, Timo Lassy Band, Verneri Pohjola Quartet, etc.). Perko, once a member of the Dizzy Gillespie Big Band, has put together a set of tunes made famous by Dizzy for the re-evaluation by the highly talented trio. The time is right now, Dizzy's 100th anniversary, 30 years since the alto sax player, back then a teenage sensation, shared the stages with the likes of Sam Rivers, Jerry Dodgion, Jon Faddis, and of course Dizzy himself.

The results are stunning. On Dizzy, Jukka Perko Tritone showcases what small group jazz sounds like at its best. The group breathes the music naturally, taking cues from each other to expand the compositions onto a new level, their own personal music. The tracks brim with innovation and the sheer joys of playing.

As Perko himself put it: It's not about what Dizzy's music means to us, but rather what we can bring to it. We're adding our own piece onto the mosaic which makes up modern jazz.

The release comes as both vinyl LP and CD versions, complete with a booklet including liner notes documenting Perko's time in the Dizzy Gillespie Big Band, and rare archival material from press clips to touring schedules. The vinyl includes free digital download with 4 bonus tracks.

"Holy mackerel! Everything works: the idea, the execution, and the amazing trio."
Andreas Müller, Deutschlandradio Kultur

"Playful and cool. It's remarkable how much the trio gets out of these compositions."
Jan-Erik Holmberg, HBL newspaper

"The jazz gem of the year."
Venla-Vanamo Asikainen, Karjalainen newspaper

"The perfect jazz record."
Pentti Ronkanen, Suomijazz.com

01. Bebop 07:00
02. 'Round Midnight 07:18
03. A Night In Tunisia 09:46
04. Cubano Be, Cubano Bop 06:29
05. Dizzy's Business 04:44
06. Con Alma 10:02
07. Lover Come Back to Me 05:14
08. Woody 'n' You 05:12
09. One Bass Hit 05:52
10. Tin Tin Deo 04:36

Jukka Perko, alto sax
Antti Lötjönen, bass
Teppo Mäkynen, drums

Music arranged by Jukka Perko Tritone 
Choir vocals on "Cubano Be, Cubano Bop" by KYN / KVL 
Recorded by Risto Hemmi at Finnvox Studios, Helsinki on 11-12 Oct 2016 
Mixed by Teppo Mäkynen & Risto Hemmi at Finnvox Studios 
Mastered by Pauli Saastamoinen at Finnvox Studios 
Additional vinyl mastering by Jukka Sarapää at Timmion Cutting Lab 
Produced by Teppo Mäkynen 
Design & liner notes by Matti Nives