Thursday, May 25, 2017

Zacc Harris - American Reverie (SHIFTING PARADIGM RECORDS 2017)

Guitarist and composer Zacc Harris is best known for his work with Atlantis Quartet, winners of the 2015 McKnight Fellowship for Performing Musicians and City Pages Best Jazz Artist of 2011. He has toured throughout the US and UK, and released or performed on more than two dozen records. With American Reverie, Harris sets out to explore songs that evoke the nostalgia of an America gone by, with modern jazz inflected interpretations of classic folk songs like Shenandoah and the Tennessee Waltz, along with music by Willie Nelson, Bob Dylan, The Ronettes, Woody Guthrie and more. Joined by bassist Matt Peterson and drummer Lars-Erik Larson, Zacc Harris' American Reverie brings the past and present together.

1. Shenandoah 04:41
2. This Land Is Your Land 04:16
3. Long Black Veil 04:07
4. On the Road Again 05:48
5. Be My Baby 04:23
6. Take Me Out To the Ballgame 05:02
7. In the Pines 04:45
8. Simple Twist of Fate 04:54
9. Carousel 05:26
10. Jesus, Etc. 03:54
11. Tennessee Waltz 06:05
12. Star Spangled Banner 02:48

Matt Peterson - bass 
Lars-Erik Larson - drums 

Recorded at Bathtub Shrine Studio, Minneapolis, MN 
Engineered & Mixed by Greg Schutte 
Mastered by Huntley Miller at HM Mastering 
Design by Jesse Hughes
Photography by Jason Larkin 
Produced by Zacc Harris