Friday, May 5, 2017

Trespass Trio - The Spirit of Pitesti (CLEAN FEED RECORDS 2017)

After “…was there to illuminate the night sky…”, “Bruder Beda” and “Human Encore”, this one with Joe McPhee as special guest, Trespass Trio is back to tell us another story without words. There’s a narrative structure developing from start to finish, with a cinematic quality, but everything goes through an emotional level (from rage to a disarming tenderness) and the clear invitation to imagine scenarios, characters and dialogues. Again, that story has political connotations.

Pitesti is a Romanian city which got notorious because the local prison was home of brainwashing experiments during the totalitarian regime. In that process of “reeducation” of the prisoners, violence between the inmates was encouraged by the secret police.

The procedures got so out of hand that the communist authorities stopped everything five years later. The prison staff was pardoned (of course!), but some inmate collaborationists were condemned to death. Combining composition and improvisation, rigor and passion, minor tones and grand gestures, the music touches us deeply. Trespass Trio became one of the most defying units of the contemporary European jazz and each new opus is a masterpiece. “The Spirit of Pitesti” is no exception. Not to be missed.

1. Sounds & Ruins (Take 3)
2. The Spirit Of Pitești
3. In Tears
4. Fri Kokko (Free Retardo At The Koko Club)
5. Centers
6. Sounds & Ruins (Take 2)

Per Zanussi  double bass
Raymond Strid  drums and percussion
Martin Küchen  baritone, alto and sopranino saxophones

All compositions rights reserved by STIM/NCB (Sweden) or TONO (Norway)

Recorded by Audun Rødsten & Morten Brekke Stensland for Mikkis Recording Company at Biermanngården, Oslo, Norway at the 29th of November 2015 | Mixed and mastered by Jakob Riis Produced by Trespass | Executive production by Pedro Costa for Trem Azul | Liner notes by Martin Küchen