Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Gerald Clayton - Tributary Tales (MOTÉMA MUSIC 2017)

GRAMMY-nominated pianist and composer Gerald Clayton melds together diverse inspirations to create an interconnected musical narrative that resonates with modern styles as boldly as it evokes classic and timeless sounds. 

To record Tributary Tales, Clayton assembled a group of artists both new and familiar, each of whom brings additional, unique influences and experiences to the music. Saxophonists Logan Richardson, Ben Wendel and Dayna Stephens, bassist Joe Sanders, drummer Justin Brown and percussionists Henry Cole and Gabriel Lugo join guest vocalist Sachal Vasandani and poets Carl Hancock Rux and Aja Monet to bring life to Clayton’s range of alluring compositions.

01. Unforeseen 5:58
02. Patience Patients 6:13
03. Search For 1:07
04. A Light 4:19
05. Reach Fo 0:36
06. Envisionings 6:43
07. Reflect On 1:09
08. Lovers Reverie (feat. Aja Monet & Carl Hancock Rux) 3:11
09. Wakeful 5:54
10. Soul Stomp 7:47
11. Are We 7:00
12. Engage In 1:29
13. Squinted 7:10
14. Dimensions: Interwoven (feat. Aja Monet & Carl Hancock Rux) 5:50