Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Nick Vayenas - Flow Motion (2017)

Dayna Stephens  tenor sax
Patrick Cornelius - alto sax
Glenn Zaleski - piano
Peter Slavov - bass
Colin Stranahan - drums

1. Flow Motion
2. Premonition
3. Red Stripe
4. Velvet Mystery
5. Anarchy
6. The Final Frontier
7. Sunny Side Up
8. Change

Trombonist, trumpeter, composer, and educator Nick Vayenas has been a mainstay on the music scene for the past 15 years. Based in New York City, Nick has worked in a variety of settings both as a sideman and leader. In 2009, Vayenas released his acclaimed debut album, 'Synesthesia', on drummer Kendrick Scott’s World Culture Music label. "A well conceived album and more than casually ambitious", wrote Nate Chinen of the New York Times.

The album featured some of the finest young musicians on the jazz scene today (Kendrick Scott - drums, Aaron Parks - piano, Matt Brewer - bass, Gretchen Parlato - voice, and Patrick Cornelius - alto sax). In 2012, he returned with his sophomore release, 'Nick Vayenas', on Whirlwind Recordings. 

The recording displayed his astonishing breadth of skills on trombone, trumpet, and vocals as well as his unique composing and arranging style. "One of the most impressive of Whirlwind issues, showcasing a multi-talented individual likely to appeal to a wide constituency of jazz fans, 4 stars", said Jazz Journal.

Nick’s latest album, 'Flow Motion' features a set of all original compositions written by Nick and performed by a stellar line-up of musicians. Joining Nick is his fellow Thelonious Monk Institute class member Dayna Stephens on tenor sax, Cornelius on alto, pianist Glenn Zaleski, bassist Peter Slavov, and drummer Colin Stranahan. The band performs brilliantly, providing expressive interpretations of Nicks melodic modern jazz compositions.