Tuesday, April 11, 2017

Duval Timothy - Brown Loop (Deluxe) 2017

Based on the idea that singular notes are bright and distinct they could naturally be represented by primary colors or simple bright blocks of distinct color. My style of piano playing is structured around playing chords which since I was young I myself and my brother always described as 'brown'. At the time that just came to me naturally but it seems to represent the mixing of these notes or colors until the individual tones combine to create brown in the same way you can mix paints. I guess brown also has something to do with identity as well. And the loop represents how many of the songs start in one place and circle back to finish in the same way they started. It's also a nod to hiphop since I feel my music is part of hiphop as much as any other genre but also they way I think of sampling myself in the creating process to make this quite repetitive songs that build slowly. - Duval Timothy on 'Brown Loop'

01. Through the Night 03:39
02. Old Kent Rd 04:26
03. If You Don't Leave When You Want To 03:19
04. Cold Is Coming 03:05
05. G 03:07
06. Badman 03:01
07. Clouds 02:33
08. Cycling 02:52
09. Blue Borough 02:55
10. Hairs 07:14
11. Villain 01:51
12. Older Than We Used to Be 02:49
13. Pleats 02:55
14. Smoke Alarm 03:36
15. Passing 05:04

Duval Timothy, piano