Thursday, February 16, 2017

Kristóf Bacsó Triad & Lionel Loueke - Pannon Blue (Live) BMC RECORDS 2017

Saxophonist, composer Kristóf Bacsó is one of the key figures of the Hungarian jazz scene. He has put out a significant body of work including quintet, quartet and big band dates, live and studio recordings, almost exclusively on BMC Records. Visitors of the Opus Jazz Club and BMC’s Concert hall can meet him regularly as member or guest musician of various formations – let’s just mention that he is one of the leading soloists and composers of the Modern Art Orchestra led by Kornél Fekete-Kovács. His main vehicle over the last four years, Triad, has cut out a niche for itself, while all three members have collected various other credits on the scene. December 2015 was an important stage in this process when the material for the group’s first album was recorded live at the Opus Jazz Club. Bacsó has invited the guitarist-vocalist-composer Lionel Loueke to the concert and the preceding rehearsals. Bacsó and Loueke have first met in the nineties and have become friends in the States. The guitarist has been releasing his albums on Blue Note since 2008, and is a regular in the bands of, among others, Herbie Hancock and Joe Lovano, Robert Glasper and Wayne Shorter. Louke arrived to grace the session when Triad arrived at its peak, quite some time spent together but still loads of musical ideas in the bag to be realised.

“We founded TRIAD three years ago so that we could discover together the great musical unknown, places never seen before, places we could only get to with each other’s help. On this adventure we are joined by the brilliant guitarist Lionel Loueke, who with his openness, modesty, and special personality, made our journey even more beautiful and exciting. I feel that the music welcomed us, and we found a new home” writes Bacsó in his sleeves notes to the album Pannon Blue, released in December 2016 on BMC Records.

1. Ad Libitum No. 1
2. Angry Little Pig

3. Hanna Is Here
4. They Went Out And Never Came Back
5. Nu Blue
6. This Is For Ornette
7. Don'T Turn Back
8. Pannon Betyars On The Land Of The Pampas
9. Ad Libitum No. 2

Kristóf Bacsó - saxophones, effects
Árpád Oláh Tzumo - keyboards, Fender Rhodes, piano
Márton Juhász - drums

Lionel Loueke - guitar, voice (1-5, 7-9)