Saturday, November 19, 2016

Phil Parisot - Lingo (ORIGIN RECORDS 2016)

For Seattle-based drummer/composer Phil Parisot, playing music is about coming home. With "Lingo," he introduces a new quartet comprised of musicians he's known for 20 years. The result is a dark and atmospheric sound that draws upon an array of influences, including Afro-Cuban, fusion, and symphonic, all molded seamlessly into a cohesive modern jazz package. In addition to presenting a number of original compositions, "Lingo" is enhanced by references to Hugh Masekela, Aaron Copland, Duke Ellington, and more.

Joining Parisot is Steve Treseler on tenor and soprano saxophone, Dan Kramlich on piano and Fender Rhodes, and Michael Glynn on acoustic bass.

01. Collage 8:16
02. Simple Serenade 5:56
03. Staircase 5:09
04. One for Hugh 5:06
05. The Drumset... 1:45
06. Apotheosis Jones 8:17
07. Different Places Together 5:50
08. Low Key Lightly 4:59
09. Lingo 6:14
10. ...Is an Orchestra... 1:33

Steve Treseler - tenor and soprano saxophones
Dan Kramlich - piano and Fender Rhodes
Michael Glynn - acoustic bass