Tuesday, October 11, 2016

Mike LeDonne Groover Quartet - That Feelin'' (2016) SAVANT RECORDS

Mike LeDonne's splendid Groover Quartet has earned a cozy groove for itself, somewhere between fresh from the oven and the halcyon days of organ combos led by Jimmy Smith, Charles Earland, Jimmy McGriff, Richard "Groove" Holmes, Shirley Scott, Don Patterson and others. While embracing their essential groundwork on the one hand, LeDonne moves steadily forward with the other, lending a more contemporary voice to what has been a popular staple of the jazz repertoire for well over half a century.

Far from alone in this pursuit, LeDonne is aided and abetted by a trio of eloquent trend-setters: long-time colleagues Eric Alexander on tenor sax, guitarist Peter Bernstein and drummer Joe Farnsworth. They are enhanced along the way by another modernist, alto saxophonist Vincent Herring, who adds warmth and color to "I'd Never Change a Thing About You," bassist Ray Brown's piquant "Gravy Blues" and LeDonne's fast-paced salute to alto saxophonist Lou Donaldson, "Sweet Papa Lou." Speaking of "I'd Never Change a Thing," the first of LeDonne's three original compositions, the charming wire-to-wire gallop was written for his daughter, Mary, who has multiple disabilities and for whom LeDonne founded the non-profit Disability Pride NYC. Read more  Jack Bowers / aaj

01. I'd Never Change A Thing About You (7:21)
02. That Feelin' (7:34)
03. La La Means I Love You (7:52)
04. Fly Little Bird Fly (4:26)
05. Gravy Blues (6:20)
06. Sweet Papa Lou (6:13)
07. At Last (5:09)
08. This Will Be An Everlasting Love (6:52)
09. A Lot Of Livin' To Do (7:48)

Mike LeDonne: Hammond B3 organ
Eric Alexander: tenor saxophone
Vincent Herring: alto saxophone (1, 5)
Peter Bernstein: guitar
Joe Farnsworth: drums