Monday, April 18, 2016

Matteo Bortone Travelers - Time Images (2015)

Label: Auand

“One of the most audacious bands in the new jazz scene”
Theodore Von Claer, Djam France
“A brilliant young quartet forged by unique relationship between the musicians !”
Lionel Eskenazi, Jazz Magazine France
“This is a great work of visionary, crosscutting writing by a great artist”
Fabrizio Versienti, Corriere del Mezzogiorno
“This is a proof of maturity, clear and bright ideas”
Flavio Caprera, Jazz Convention
“An astonishing evidence of avant-garde spirit in jazz language”
Fabrizio Zampighi, Sentire Ascoltare

Formed by Italian bass player and composer Matteo Bortone in 2008, TRAVELERS is a french/Italian quartet embracing sonic adventures trying to explore the edge between contemporary jazz and rock/pop music. This musical intention is created by bridging a weaving world of contrasts and dialogues between heady melodies, sweet songs and full-on improvisations where electric and acoustic interwine.

Travelers sound concept is determined by the composition and instrumentation but also by the belief and the will to be a group with the same line-up, a band with- out prima dona where the artistry and personality of the musicians are revealed throughout Bortone’s repertoire, tailor-made for his companions.

The young group unites four of the most outstanding musicians of the new jazz generation: together with Matteo, Antonin-Tri Hoang (alto sax, clarinets), Francesco Diodati (guitar, effects) and Ariel Tessier (drums).
Their first work has been released in March 2013 (Zone di Musica rec.): the album received some important press awards as the “Révélation Jazzman” and “Jazz Découverte” in France as well as “Jazzit likes it” in Italy. Since then, they toured around Italy, Belgium, France and United Kingdom.“Time Images”their follow-up album, has been released In September 2015, by Auand Records (promoted with the help of Puglia Sounds).

01 Sunday Supermarket
02 Just Play
03 Intro Crackle
04 Crackle
05 The Locked Room
06 Wide Blue
07 Houses of the Holy
08 Olvidao
09 Broskar
10 Tourne
11 Olvidao 1

Antonin-Tri Hoang - alto sax, clarinet, bass clarinet, synth
Francesco Diodati - electric & acoustic guitar
Matteo Bortone - double bass, electric bass
Ariel Tessier - drums