Wednesday, January 13, 2016

Will Herrington (feat. Ambrose Akinmusire) - Solace (2015)

Pianist Will Herrington displays a rhythm touch along with a reflectively soulful team of Jon Richards/b and Andrew Boyle/dr on this released. The trio shows a New Orleanish ability to swing on the bouncy “Jockamo” and meditative reflections create a gospel mood on the pensively delightful “By Watyer.” Herrington’s hands continue to testify as he strides through on “The Chief Speaks” and does a impressive job filling the room on his solo excursion “Restoration.” Ambrose Akinmusire brings his trumpet into a staggering and gasping “Ballad of Marie Laveau” and a recitative “elegy” that has the horn moan with emotions. A mix of moods fit for the various moments of a church meeting come out here, with the healing service in full progress.

Will Herrington, piano
Jon Richard, bass
Andrew Boyle, drums
Kiel Feher, percussion

'Solace' features trumpeter Ambrose Akinmusire, Courtesy of Two for the Show Media

1 - Jockamo [04:45]  
2 - Bywater [04:48]  
3 - The Chief Speaks [04:57]  
4 - Elegy (feat. Ambrose Akinmusire) [03:19]  
5 - Waiting for a Train [05:32]  
6 - Restoration [02:49]  
7 - Don't You Come Struttin in Here [04:13]  
8 - Ballad of Marie Laveau (feat. Ambrose Akinmusire) [06:19]