Thursday, May 31, 2018

Salvo Losappio - Long Story Short (GUT STRING RECORDS 2018)

“This is an excellent little album and a great introduction to Losappio and his talented band”.

“It is testament to Italian born saxophonist Salvo Losappio’s dynamic skills as tuneful bebop and swing composer that the original songs on his deeply soulful yet joyfully frenetic debut album Long Story Short fit in cozily among his veteran quartet’s fresh interpretations of classics by several jazz legends”.
— Chris Spector, THE JW VIBE

The hand-picked selection of such musicians has been really made to endow my first album with the beauties of a peculiar tradition which I always loved.  My natural predilection for their playing made clear that these outstanding artists were the perfect choice to debut as leader and collect a formative precious experience.

1. Shaw 'nuff 4:17
2. The End of a Beautiful Friendship 5:57
3. Boerum Hill 6:09
4. Sophisticated Lady 6:01
5. Leo for Two 4:33
6. Avalon 4:40
7. Ghost of a Chance 6:05

Salvo Losappio (tenor saxophone)
Sacha Perry (piano)
Ari Roland (bass)
Phil Stewart (drums)

Recorder Park West Studios (33 E 16th St, Brooklyn, NY, 11226); Recording date: 30th January, 2018

Recording engineer: Jim Clouse; Artwork design: Valeria Parisi; Photographer credits: Yoav Trifma