Tuesday, April 24, 2018

Newvelle Records is Proud to Present Andy Zimmerman's "Half Light"


Andy Zimmerman's Half Light is the second record of our Third Season.   Andy teamed up with an all star group of musicians to present this music featuring Dave Douglas on Trumpet, Kevin Hays on Piano and Matt Penman on Bass.  We think Andy is a unique voice and we can't wait to see what the world thinks of this one.

Video shot by Isaac Gillespie and edited by Ben Chace

Half Light

"The songs on this record sound like nothing else I’ve heard. Most of these songs are Andy’s compositions, sketches that he lets the band tease apart and put back together. The unique voice isn’t always a prodigy or a technical wizard or an uncanny ear. Because no matter how fast you learn, you’ll never know it all. It’s not how quick you can master something that matters; it’s do you have something to say? Learning how to read when you’re two years old is not an indicator of whether or not you’ll someday write a great novel. It’s how you live and who you are that makes you a creator. It’s about a perspective and a desire to share it."

--excerpted from the liner notes by Elan Mehler

Andy Zimmerman, Dave Douglas, Matt Penman and Kevin Hays    ©Jordan Kleinman

photo by Jordan Kleinman

"If I’m beginning to sound like a broken record with my praise for the by-subscription releases from Newvelle Records, blame the people responsible for these LPs, which consistently rise to the top in terms of music and sound." 

--Guy Lemcoe, The Audio Beat

Steve Cardenas is releasing a record dedicated to greats Charlie Haden and Paul Motian. Recording, with a quartet built of long-time collaborators of both titans Loren Stillman on sax, Thomas Morgan on bass and Matt Wilson on drums, all Charlie and Paul tunes, a couple of which have never been recorded. (February 2018)

The Chicagoan composer and saxophonist Andrew Zimmerman (previously featured on our first release, Frank Kimbrough’s “Meantime”) has put together a drumless quartet featuring pianist Kevin Hays (recording here on the same 9 foot Fazioli that Jack DeJohnette used), the bassist Matt Penman and the great Dave Douglas on trumpet. (April 2018)

Lionel Loueke is releasing his first ever album of standards featuring extraordinary accomplices Reuben Rogers on bass and Eric Harland on drums. (June 2018)

Skúli Sverrisson and Bill Frisell are releasing their first collaboration. All original music from Skúlli, much of it written for Bill. If you are familiar with Skúlli and Bill's music, you'll know what you're getting into, a record of uncommon depth and beauty. (August 2018)

Incredible Cuban drummer Francisco Mela (McCoy Tyner, Joe Lovano, John Scofield) is releasing an album of all original material with his working band featuring Kris Davis, Gerald Cannon and Hery Paz. (October 2018)

Boston based trumpeter Jason Palmer put together a band of his long time New York collaborators for a session of originals and original takes on standards with pianist Leo Genovese (previously featured on his own record on Newvelle), bassist Joe Martin and drummer Kendrick Scott. (December 2018)

All of our cover and interior photographs for Season three come fare by Maciej Markowicz.  Original text by Ingrid Astier,  Our Recording Engineer on all six records is the incomparable multi-Grammy winning Marc Urselli.  Mastering engineer is the brilliant Alex Deturk .  Jim Hoppin and Sarah Enid Hagey shot lovely video for us at these sessions.  All video editing is by the award-winning Ben Chace.  Anna Yatskevich shoots all our studio photos.

Video shot by Isaac Gillespie and edited by Ben Chace