Wednesday, April 4, 2018

Jonas Cambien Trio - We Must Mustn't We (CLEAN FEED RECORDS 2018)

The Jonas Cambien Trio reveals influences from the pioneers and greats of free music, but there’s much more going on in “We Must Mustn’t We”, beginning with Cambien’s classical-influenced piano style. A Belgian-born living in Oslo, Jonas Cambien divides his career between contemporary music, solo playing and free improvisation with groups like Simiskina and Platform – one aspect of his musical interests feeding the other. The use of extended techniques doesn’t get in the way of his preference for more conventional resources like ostinatos and counterpoint, all of which providing structural functions in both his compositions and for the improvisations of the band. 

On the 12 tracks-long album, the music is balancing seamlessly between contemporary ‘avant-garde’ material, slightly weird pop melodies, and occasional free-jazz outbursts. Much of its secret lies in the inventive orchestration, like the use of prepared piano or a home-made microtonal melodica. Reed-player André Roligheten playing tenor and soprano saxophones, as well as bass clarinet and flute, and the extensive use of percussion instruments by Andreas Wildhagen, all add richness to the frequency range and texture. On two tracks, the trio is joined by trumpeter Torstein Lavik Larsen. 

Nothing here is like you would expect: instead of using all the implications of a piece in an exploratory way, Cambien is more interested in finding the essence of all situations. We’re not facing some sort of minimalism or reductionism, far from it, but there’s a methodic application of subtractive procedures giving light to the most defined musical elements, whether they are subtle or explosive of nature. This approach paves the way for almost telepathic communication between Roligheten, Wildhagen and Cambien, and allows the music to emerge with affirmation and clarity in both it’s most sophisticated and raw ranges of expression. This is exactly that what makes this music so mysterious and captivating.

1. Creationism 01:31
2. Swear Like A Bear 05:19
3. Long Long 02:34
4. Survivalism 02:04
5. Crib 04:19
6. Renaissance 03:44
7. Animalism 01:49
8. Copper Man 05:47
9. I Must Mustn't I 04:10
10. Unlikely Friendship 03:19
11. Sister, You Proved Me Right 03:17
12. Long Long Long 03:03

André Roligheten soprano and tenor saxophone, bass clarinet, flute
Andreas Wildhagen drums and percussion (trumpet on track 4) 
Jonas Cambien piano (microtonal melodica on track 9) 

Guest: Torstein Lavik Larsen trumpet on track 6 & 8 

All compositions by Jonas Cambien | All arrangements by André Roligheten, Andreas Wildhagen, Jonas Cambien 

Recorded by Morten Qvenild at Det Grønne Rommet, Nesodden 
Mixed by Morten Qvenild at Det Grønne Rommet, and by Johnny Skalleberg at Amper Tone, Oslo 
Mastered by Christian Obermayer at Strype Audio, Oslo 
Produced by Pedro Costa for Trem Azul 
Design by Travassos