Monday, April 30, 2018

Gilson Peranzzetta - Tributo a Oscar Peterson (FINA FLOR 2018)

A straight jazz album from Brazilian pianist Gilson Peranzzett, an artist who's played on countless sessions over the years, including a wealth of famous vocal records too – but who here pays tribute to the great Oscar Peterson, in a nicely stripped-down set of jazz piano trio tracks! Peranzzetta plays acoustic throughout, and has that magical soulful swing of Peterson – the fluid groove that made Oscar's work so revolutionary in the 50s, and which continues to be an inspiration all these many years later. At points, Gilson maybe brings in some darker touches of his own – especially on the intros to the tracks – and the group here features Paulo Russo on bass and Joao Cortez on drums. Titles include "I Feel Pretty", "Con Alma", "Days Of Wine & Roses", "Easy To Love", "I've Got You Under My Skin", and "Somewhere". ~ Dusty Groove

1 Somewhere 3:11
2 I Feel Pretty 2:58
3 Garota de Ipanema 7:06
4 The Days of Wine and Roses 3:27
5 Con Alma 6:51
6 Tico Tico no Fubá 5:38
7 Easy to Love 5:24
8 It's All Right with Me 3:43
9 I've Got You Under My Skin 4:33
10 It's De-Lovely 2:43
11 Just One of Those Things 4:00