Sunday, December 10, 2017

Wiebke Schröder Trio - Episodes (UNIT RECORDS 2017)

The trio specializes in writing their own music- nonetheless, they love to strech out towards arranging jazz-standards, classical songs, or popular music. These three musicians have a clearly worked out path of how they want their music to be: communicative, instinctive and profound. The musical nucleus of their compositions range from novels, paintings, poems, to lived experiences, or mere sensations in the blink of an eye. This trio draws influences from jazz as well as classical music, to nurture a music with a seemingly limitless audial spectrum - once philosophical and earnest, their playing may take every direction towards the lyrical, the playful, the experimental, or groove- orientation. Although the compositions provide a thorough structure, they nevertheless provide plenty of room for improvisational jaunts, in which the magic of this bands unique sound can flourish.

1 SNCF 6:21
2 Hexenkind 5:54
3 On & On 7:22
4 The Saga of Harrison Crabfeathers 4:40
5 Angst 10:20
6 Perseverance 4:13

Wiebke Schröder – Piano
Silas Jakob – Drums & Percussion
Matthias Kleiner – Double Bass