Wednesday, June 21, 2017

Jaska Lukkarinen Trio - Origami (WE JAZZ RECORDS 2017)

Recorded at Helsinki's We Jazz Festival, the new LP "Origami" by the Jaska Lukkarinen Trio offer a solid glimpse of the remarkable creative power of one of the best working groups in the vibrant Finnish scene. Drummer Jaska Lukkarinen (of Dalindèo), sax man Jussi Kannaste and bassist Antti Lötjönen (of The Five Corners Quintet) play jazz which relies on the strong dynamic of the group. They swing at times, turn inwards for some deep meditative passaged on occasion, and find their own personal way within the music. Think pianoless small groups in the vein of some of Jimmy Giuffre's best work, for example, and you're in the right mindset. 

On this LP, the Jaska Lukkarinen Trio capture the essence of their music and the innovation in the moment which is at the very core of all great jazz music. They tackle the music of a close collaborator Valtteri Laurell Pöyhönen (of Dalindèo and Ricky-Tick Big band), and deliver a which set brimming with fresh musical ideas, and this music has appeal well outside of the hard core jazz crowd. This music is approachable yet deep with layers at the same time. Recorded on analogue equipment, the set echoes a the classic sonic palette of live jazz recordings, while offering music which looks ahead at all times. The LP release includes an article about the project + a digital download with the bonus track, "Beauty Passing By".

1. Flow On 10:41
2. Origami 05:22
3. Komeda 07:41
4. Pengerkadulla 07:30
5. Beauty Passing By 09:33

Composed by Valtteri Laurell Pöyhönen 
Arranged & performed by Jaska Lukkarinen Trio 
Produced by Jaska Lukkarinen & Matti Nives 
Recorded at We Jazz Festival in Helsinki at Dubrovnik Lounge & Lobby on 11 Dec 2015 by Abdissa Assefa 
Mastered by Jaakko Viitalähde at Virtalähde Mastering Additional mastering by Sami Kantelinen at Timmion Cutting Lab 
Design & liner notes by Matti Nives