Sunday, April 23, 2017


A split vinyl album, more associated with the punk movement, now combines the Tampere's finest in the Finnish spiritual jazz and world music scene unveiling new and fresh unreleased material.

Nothing can replace or emulate the ESP like-minded musicians develop through playing together over a long period of time. Multi-instrumentalist Kusti Vuorinen, saxophonist Masa Orpana and drummer Janne Tuomi have performed and recorded together in various guises since the early 1990s, and this mutual understanding they now draw upon as main songwriters of the unique and mysterious Rakka.

As documented on the critically acclaimed albums ‘Soutu’ (2012) and ‘Mykorritsan valtakunta’ (2014), this colourful and extraordinary Finnish group draws on a variety of sources such as free improvisation, the European schlager tradition, marching band music and soundtrack melodies when creating their aural canvases of miracle and wonder.

Made whole by the talents of trumpeter Tommi Kolunen and bass player Ville Rauhala, who also writes music for the collective, Rakka is all about refining their intricate interplay and conveying an ever expanding spectrum of emotions. And just like audience reactions from cities such as London and Berlin prove, the organic sound of the quintet, ranging from melacholy dirges to spiritual outbursts of joy and beyond, is highly contagious by nature.

Side A: Rakka
1. Eskosfääri Vuorinen 05:01
2. Kauramoottori Vuorinen 05:46
3. Ikuisilta näyttävät tähdet Vuorinen 05:02
4. Kuuma Narttu Vuorinen 05:50

Kusti Vuorinen: organ, accordion, percussion, mbira
Tommi Kolunen: trumpet
Masa Orpana: tenor saxophone, clarinet
Ville Rauhala: double bass
Janne Tuomi: drums, percussion
+Inari Ruonamaa: alto saxophone on Kauramoottori

All songs written by Kusti Vuorinen
Recorded by Kusti Vuorinen, Antti Ilola and Pekka Pirttikangas
Mixed by Pentti Dassum
Managed by Annamaija Music Company

Founded by saxophonist Sami Sippola, bassist Ville Rauhala and drummer Simo Laihonen, Black Motor crashed on the Finnish jazz scene with a furious attitude in 2005. The sound, exactly like later described by one of their heroes and collaborators, saxophonist Peter Brötzmann, was ”refreshingly hard and gruff” when it propelled the expression of masters such as John Coltrane, Edward Vesala and Albert Ayler straight into the future.

Like a breath of scorching air, the trio blazed through the competition leaving behind unforgettable shows – sometimes with guests like saxophonist Juhani Aaltonen, guitarist Raoul Björkenheim and trumpeter Verneri Pohjola – and nine albums such as ’Vaarat vastukset’ (2008), ’Hoojaa’ (2011) and ’Yöstä aamun kynnykselle’ (2013) before coming to a watershed.

After well-received shows in London and New York City and a full ten years of action behind them, Black Motor underwent the first line-up change when Tane Kannisto replaced Sippola as the reedsman. However, determined to face every challenge vigorous as ever, the rough and ready Black Motor now became even more headstrong about taking rootsy high-octane improvisation to the next level.

Side B: Black Motor
1. Longer The Distance, Sweeter The Sound Rauhala 05:10
2. Lähempänä Taivasta Rauhala 04:51
3. A Sudden Twist… (and then it hurts) Rauhala 03:30
4. Ich habe dich schon vergessen Rauhala 08:06

Jouni “Tane” Kannisto tenor saxophone, flute, bells
Ville Rauhala: double bass
Simo Laihonen: drums

Compositions Ville Rauhala, arrangements BM
Recorded and mixed by Juuso Nordlund at JJ Studio, Tampere

Mastered by Jaakko Viitalähde
Liner notes by Petri Silas
Cover art by Kai Johansson

"Branches" record release@Kulttuuritalo Telakka w/ Koskinen/Romus/Hauta-Aho
@ Kulttuuritalo Telakka, Tampere
31 May 2017, 21:00
Release concert of "Branches" (on We Jazz Records) w/ Mike Koskinen (digital trumpet), Rent Romus (reeds) & Teppo Hauta-Aho (double bass) -> Kulttuuritalo Telakka -> We Jazz
in 38 days and 10:19 hours.

"Branches" record release@jaZZanti
@ Ravintola Laulumiehet, Helsinki
13 June 2017, 19:00
Release concert of "Branches" (on We Jazz Records) -> jaZZanti/Helsinki Jazz ry -> We Jazz
in 51 days and 08:19 hours.