Thursday, March 16, 2017

Allegra Levy - Cities Between Us (SteepleChase Records 2017)

Burgeoning vocalist/composer/lyricist Allegra Levy grabbed attention of critics and public with her 2014 debut album “Lonely City” SCCD 33118.

Allen Morrison of Downbeat remarked, “Allegra Levy has a pleasing alto, a sultry delivery and a propensity to swing. Her debut album, Lonely City, is consistently engaging.”

“Discovering a fresh, dynamic jazz voice is always a delight. When the singer proves an equally gifted songwriter, the pleasure is squared. Allegra Levy is one such double-barreled talent.” (Christopher Loudon – JazzTimes)

Here on her new album, Allegra teamed-up with a powerhouse quintet tells her stories in both contemporary and timeless fashion.

1. Cherry Blossom Song 6:38
2. Lullaby of the Orient 5:13
3. I Shouldn't Tell You 5:24
4. Misery Makes the Music 4:12
5. Yesterdays 5:07
6. Dear Friend 5:14
7. Sleepwalk with Me (In Sek Tong Tsui) 5:28
8. Soy Califa 4:37
9. Leaving Today 8:40
10.Down Sunday 6:18
11. Cities Between Us

Allegra Levy vocal
Kirk Knuffke cornet
Stephen Riley tenor saxophone
Carmen Staaf piano
Jay Anderson bass
Billy Drummond drums