Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Harri Kuusijärvi Koutus - Music For A Family Picnic (ECLIPSE MUSIC 2017)

”Harri Kuusijärvi Koutus totally renews ones image of accordion music. ★★★★★ 5/5 stars
Juha Seitz / Soundi

”Unexpected, curious, striking, offbeat, rockin’, avant-garde, and fucking good. Koutus is one of the best discs to emerge this year, regardless of category.”

Harri Kuusijärvi Koutus is a Finnish band led by accordionist Harri Kuusijärvi. Drawing on various contemporary influences the group creates a distinctive soundscape with taste of 70´s prog rock, jazz and world music fueled with improvisation.

1. Naltio (3:03)
2. Music For A Family Picnic (3:37)
3. La Route De Pokka (5:34)
4. UFO Bar (4:34)
5. I Was Driving 160 Miles Per Hour From Turku In The Midnight When I Felt The Time Was Slowing Down (6:40)
6. 78 Days (1:15)
7. Shelter (4:16)
8. 100 m (4:50)
9. Naava (4:12)

Harri Kuusijärvi / accordeon, effects, composer
Veikki Virkajärvi / electric guitar
Eero Tikkanen / bass
Teho Majamäki / vibraphone, effects, percussion
Jesse Ojajärvi / drums