Tuesday, January 31, 2017

Velkro - Too Lazy to Panic (CLEAN FEED RECORDS 2017)

«Lean back and give it time to grow», asks Velkro to the listener in the liner-notes of their new CD, “Too Lazy to Panic”. In fact, the compositions by the trio with Bostjan Simon, Stephan Meidell and Luís Candeias need your attention to develop. They may be intense, but there’s no hurries. This hybrid of jazz with psychedelic jamming rock and experimental electronic music – mostly, the kind of electronica triggered by a guitar – is slow, and even when things start to get agitated you feel that behind all the unquietness is a steady heartbeat. It seems that someone is watching you, immobile, from the shadows, and yes, that’s a dark feeling, in spite of all the colors called to action. There are beautiful melodies and there are harsh noises, there are contagious grooves and there are abstract dreamy sequences – everything searching for a balance and only finding it precariously. The music is always at the imminence to fall, but keeps flowing and flowing, hypnotically imprisoning us inside.

1. Joint Effort 2:25
2. Circle Haze 6:46
3. Human Element 2:58
4. Tune Out 4:39
5. Too Lazy to Panic 10:18
6. Dragons 6:01
7. Well Balanced Salad 2:56
8. Towards the Gorges 8:14

Boštjan  Simon  sax, electronics
Stephan Meidell  guitar, bass, percussion, electronics
Luis Candeias  drums, percussion

1, 7 and 8 by Simon/Meidell/Candeias | 3, 4 by Simon | 2, 5 and 6 by Meidell (TONO) | All songs arranged by Velkro

Recorded by Luis Candeias at HQ Studio, Lisbon, Portugal | Mixed by Stephan Meidell at Kakofon Studio, Bergen, Norway | Mastered by Iver Sandøy at Solslottet, Bergen, Norway
Produced by Velkro | Executive production by Pedro Costa for Trem Azul | Design by Travassos | Band photo by Rosa Reis