Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Throttle Elevator Music - Retrorespective (WIDE HIVE RECORDS 2017)

Throttle Elevator Music's "Retrorespective" reunites Gregory Howe and Matt Montgomery with tenor Saxophonist Kamasi Washington for a fifth recording.

This release contains nine original new compositions by Matt Montgomery, Gregory Howe and Kamasi Washington. Throttle Trumpet player Erik Jekabson and Kamasi sound amazing together throughout the title. This time around they are joined by rhythm section drummer Thomas McCree, guitarist Ava Mendoza, and bassist/pianist Matt Montgomery.

1. Liminality 8:21
2. Playing The Alleyway 5:25
3. February Drift 7:01
4. Flux And Solder 3:26
5. Retrorespective 2:43
6. Second Liminality 5:54
7. Subtract Limited 4:03
8. Rapid Rotation 2:22
9. February 15 7:51

Erik Jekabson
Erik Jekabson is an American trumpet player, composer, and music educator from Berkeley, California. He appears on Throttle Elevator Music IV and Throttle Elevator Music Area J.

Gregory Howe
Gregory Howe is a producer, engineer, musician and owner and founder of Wide Hive Records. Howe is an accomplished producer who has released over thirty albums through Wide Hive Records.

Kamasi Washington
Kamasi Washington is featured Saxophonist on Both Throttle Elevator Music and Phil Ranelin's Perseverance. Also as a composer Kamasi has scored for several films including Stacey Peralta's recent Independant Lens feature: Crips and Bloods: Made In America.

Matt Montgomery
Matthew Montgomery has performed or recorded with, abbreviated for brevity’s sake would include: Faye Carol, Calvin Keys, Donald “Duck” Bailey, Graham Connah, Hafez Modirzadeh, Eddie Gale, Mark Levine, Kevin Carnes and David Boyce (Professor Borris Karnaz and Black Edgar Kenyatta of BROUN FELLINIS), and Kat Ouano (CROWN CITY ROCKERS).