Thursday, November 24, 2016

Mamutrio - Primal Existence (ORIGIN RECORDS 2016)

" From Belgium it came, a new sax trio that fuses art jazz with Euro the way that ECM did it in their younger days". MIDWEST RECORD

The Belgian saxophone trio Mamutrio was founded under the impulse of the young, talented drummer Jesse Dockx. With his former teachers and mentors, bassist Piet Verbist and saxophonist Lieven Cambré, the trio has now performed dozens of concerts around Belgium and presents here its debut recording. Bringing an active performance style with lots of interaction, Mamutrio performs a repertoire that contains mostly originals from the band members, expressing all kinds of moods and influences.

Contemporary jazz with a variety of approaches, from traditional to playful and open, focusing on harmony and melodic interplay in a rhythmic context, challenging and dynamic.

01. In Peace With Gravity (Piet Verbist) 9:43
02. Triads (Lieven Cambré) 4:23
03. Ballast (Behind All Love Laughs A Simple Truth) (Piet Verbist) 6:35
04. To Remember (Jesse Dockx) 5:27
05. Temperamental (Piet Verbist) 5:17
06. Night Shift (Lieven Cambré) 4:38
07. For Less Than Nothing (Piet Verbist) 6:30
08. Mr. Mood's Touch (Lieven Cambré) 5:21
09. You Are Too Beautiful (Richard Rodgers) 6:21
10. My Love You (Piet Verbist) 7:05

Lieven Cambré: alto sax & compositions
Piet Verbist: contrabas & compositions
Jesse Dockx: drums & compositions

Produced by Piet Verbist / Contour vzw Arendstraat 31 2018 Antwerpen Belgium 
Recorded & mixed by Fre Madou/Piet Verbist at Studio Soundfarm, Loenhout, Belgium 
Recorded on August 24, 2015 
Mastered by Brian Schwab at Schwab Mastering, Chicago 
Band photograph by JL Knaepen 
Liner notes by Dré Pallemaerts 
Cover design by John Bishop