Wednesday, November 9, 2016

Magnus Broo / Paal Nilssen​-​Love - Game (2016)

Magnus Broo on trumpet and Paal Nilssen-Love on drums. The 6 tracks are freely improvised, and move us across a broad landscape of jazz expressiveness : from rhythmic and melodic parts to very avant-garde excursions, from slow and bluesy sounds to staccato blasts, with the real focus on the interplay between the two artists. Through Broo's playing, other trumpeters come to mind : Lester Bowie, Don Cherry, Paul Smoker. 

One of the reason's I like the album a lot is that both musicians demonstrate that it's possible to be creative, innovative, avant-garde, free and still be deeply emotional. Despite the limited possibilities of the duo, they manage to captivate the attention from beginning to end. This is intense, direct and raw music, but beautiful ...

1. Marching 09:08
2. Stomping 08:29
3. Cut Loose 08:11
4. CodA 06:16
5. Mas 13:30
6. Brown Sugar, Sweet Rice  05:43

Released 2008

Released November 8, 2016 

Paal Nilssen-Love: Drums 
Magnus Broo: Trumpet