Thursday, September 15, 2016

Mount Meander - Mount Meander (2016) CLEAN FEED RECORDS

Confirming that jazz is an universal language, here is a trans-national quartet featuring musicians from Germany, Latvia and Poland, in the two last cases living in Copenhagen. If you don’t recognize the names of these four representatives of a new generation of European musicians, namely Karlis Auzins, Lucas Leidinger, Tomo Jacobson and Thomas Sauerborn, certainly you’ll know some of those with whom they already established exciting partnerships: John Tchicai, Mat Maneri, Lotte Anker, Andrew D’Angelo, Adam Rudolph, Randy Peterson, Kresten Osgood, Sidsel Endresen and Frank Gratkowski. This gives you an idea of what to expect: music with an attitude, and the attitude is to function as one organism. Not a simple gathering of four individuals, but a complete being committed to intuitive and collective free improvisation. Does it mean this is non-idiomatic improvised music, to use the label invented by Derek Bailey? Not quite: the band Mount Meander uses musical idioms to tear down the borders between jazz, the avant-garde, world music, rock and pop, and precisely because this CD isn’t about genres. It’s all about unity, equality, trust and communication. Are you ready for them?

01. Sunsail, Pt. 1 8:34
02. Sunsail, Pt. 2 7:09
03. Sunsail, Pt. 3 3:34
04. Politeness Is God 3:44
05. Thrill 6:04
06. Motoric Animal 3:22
07. A Bird in the Hand? 6:47
08. Swung 7:34
09. Bow 7:51

Karlis Auzins | tenor & soprano saxophone
Lucas Leidinger | piano
Tomo Jacobson | double-bass
Thomas Sauerborn | drums

All compositions by Karlis Auzins, Lucas Leidinger, Tomo Jacobson & Thomas Sauerborn

Recording by Thomas Sauerborn at Monastic Studios, Copenhagen on 9th May 2015 | Mixing & Mastering by Christian Heck at Tonart Studio
Produced by Mount Meander | Executive production by Pedro Costa for Trem Azul | Photos by Malwa Grabowska