Monday, September 19, 2016

Jim Snidero - MD66 (2016) SAVANT RECORDS

Over the course of the past three decades alto saxophonist and composer Jim Snidero has been constantly pushing himself to explore new territories and expand his outlook. In 1989 his extraordinary album Blue Afternoon made its way into The Penguin Jazz Guide: The History of the Music in the 1001 Best Albums. 

Later on he made his mark in the sax-with-strings department, not only playing at the top of his game, but also composing and arranging all of the music on the project. Most recently he's impressed more than a few listeners with a spate of fine albums on Savant. 

On this his latest release, Snidero tackles open modal forms and uses his unfettered imagination as a portal into free(r) territory, and takes his soloing to the next level by working an inside/outside approach that's rooted in the structure and style of each song but radical enough to move in wildly unexpected directions. This is a musical promised land where revelations, whether subtle or seismic in nature, are guided by revolution.

Alex Sipiagin, trumpet
Andy LaVerne, piano
Ugonna Okegwo, bass 
Rudy Royston, drums 

01. MD66  
02. Recursion  
03. Free Beauty  
04. Unified  
05. Who We've Known  
06. Un4Scene  
07. Blue in Green  
08. Purge