Friday, May 13, 2016

Aki Ishiguro, Peter Schwebs and Rodrigo Recabarren - Mural (2016)

American-Japanese guitarist Aki Ishiguro, German bassist Peter Schwebs and Chilean drummer Rodrigo Recabarren recorded their debut album MURAL in March of 2015 at Systems Two in Brooklyn, New York. 

MURAL is a collective group made of three rising jazz stars in New York. The band showcases each members' virtuosic instrumental skills as well as their refined compositions. Subtle influences of European classical music, Japanese folk, and South American rhythms are just one the culmination of the multiple nationalities and cultures represented in the trio. The group’s collaboration is apparent through their balanced sound, wide dynamics, and seamless interaction. MURAL is truly a band effort – a single instrument with three musicians. 
The album features ten pieces including eight original compositions and two standards. The original pieces are composed by members of MURAL. Also featured are arrangements of standards Pure Imagination, the theme song from the movie "Willy Wonka and The Chocolate Factory" (1971) and the Wayne Shorter composition Yes or No.
The members of MURAL found time to explore the trio medium even before its inception. "We have known each other for many years through different bands," says bassist Peter Schwebs. "But last year we finally decided to turn our regular trio sessions into a proper band and record an album."