Wednesday, March 23, 2016

Karl Latham - Living Standards (2016)

Karl Latham’s latest release, Living Standards features bassist Mark Egan and guitarist Vic Juris performing iconic pop standards from the ’60s and ’70s. The trio, led by world renown drummer Latham, takes you on an adventurous jam band/jazz journey, exploring smash pop, rock and soul hits that have become modern standards, overlapping generations of listeners.

Karl’s latest trio follows the critically acclaimed Egan/Latham/Hart Unit1 and Latham/Carniaux/Egan Constellations. With the inclusion of virtuosic guitarist Vic Juris, Living Standards clearly draws from the interpretive spirit of Unit1 and Constellations providing a rhythmic and harmonic adventure in a vehicle of iconic pop standards.

Featured tracks include The Beatles “Day Tripper”, “Tax Man” and “Tomorrow Never Knows”, Neil Young’s “Cinnamon Girl”, stirring ballads “White Rabbit” and “Us and Them” and extended improvisations on the Doors “Riders on the Storm”, and the War classic “Low Rider”.

Karl Latham Group – with Mark Egan and Vic Juris

The Karl Latham Group “Living Standards” is a culmination of both Latham’s protean imagination for transformative musical projects which unite sophisticated musicianship with themes that embrace a wider listenership and his musical and personal relationship with preeminent bassist Mark Egan and Master guitarist Vic Juris.

The album concept provides high level collective group playing, improvisation with rhythmic and harmonic adventure traveling in a vehicle of iconic popular music standards from the 60’s and 70’s. Karl is fond of referring to this project as Living Standards aka “Jazz for Everyone”.

Karl Latham, drums
Vic Juris, guitar
Mark Egan, bass

01. Day Tripper
02. Low Rider
03. Cinnamon Girl
04. Tax Man
05. Us and Them
06. It's Your Thing
07. White Rabbit
08. Tomorrow Never Knows
09. Had to Cry Today
10. Riders on the Storm
11. White Room