Thursday, January 28, 2016

Bokani Dyer - World Music (2015)

Label: Dyertribe Music
Source: Cdbaby 

Brand new release by Bokani Dyer entitled "World Music" will be available from 1st July with the unofficial album launch at the opening of the National Arts Festival Jazz Program 2015. "World Music" is Bokani's 3rd recording under his own name. Some of the compositions have been developed over a period of 4 years, others are recently composed.
The sound of the album is an expression of embracing all musical heritage and claiming the ambiguous term "World Music" to describe it. From Bach to Soul, to Ellington to Mbira music, no influence in Bokani Dyer's make-up is left unexplored. It is a colorful musical exploration of instrumental music which is as historically aware as it is currently conscious - a celebration of all music with no borders. 

Waiting, Falling;
The Artist;
Interlude-See My People Through;
Master Of Ceremony;
African Piano-Water;
Motho Wa Modimo

Bokani Dyer: piano;
Shane Cooper: double bass, electric bass;
Marlon Witbooi: drums;
Keenan Ahrends: guitar;
Buddy Wells: tenor saxophone;
Robin Fassie-Kock: trumpet, flugelhor;
Justin Bellairs: alto saxophone;
Sakhile Moleshe: vocals (4);
Lee-Anne Fortuin: vocals (1);
John Hassan: percussion, vocals (2)