viernes, 20 de noviembre de 2015

Gianluca Lusi, Andrea Rea, Reuben Rogers, Gregory Hutchinson - Never Fault Behind the Scenes (2015)

“Never Fault Behind The Scenes” is a quartet music work by Gianluca Lusi who has been involved in a completely original project carried out in cooperation with exceptional musicians. An album that ranges from modern mainstream to free jazz, with intense melodic cues, enhanced by the powerful rhythmic contribution of the two stars Reuben Rogers and Gregory Hutchinson. This album represents the consecration of the italian saxophonist and his musical style.

Gianluca Lusi, multi-sax player and composer has worked with several international artists: Danilo Rea, Maurizio Giammarco, Bill Carrothers, Massimo Moriconi, Massimo Manzi, Giovanni Amato, Riccardo Fassi, Pino Jodice, Joel Holmes, Gianluigi Goglia, Peter Epstein, Larry Panella, Russell Welch, Andy Gravish, Köbberling Heinrich, Thomas Siffling, Pietro Iodice, Luigi Masciari, Denise King, Olivier Hutman. Among some of his works: “Rune” (Splasch Records), the duo “Loose” alongside Joel Holmes (Tosky Records) and “What’s New” (Caligola Records).

Andrea Rea, pianist born in 1983, he collaborates with musicians such as Dado Moroni, Kenny Barron, George Cables, Barry Harris, Maurizio Giammarco, Alessandro Gwis, Julian Oliver Mazzariello. Takes part in many contests, winning many of them including: “Baronissi Jazz”, “Tuscia in Jazz” and even “Piacenza Jazz” and “Jazz no Tea Factory”. In 2007 he’s the winner of the prestigious international award “Massimo Urbani” PIMU 11. In 2010 he produced “White Room” and in 2014 “Arioso” (Abeat Records), currently playing in Stefano DI Battista’s quartet.

Reuben Rogers born November 15, 1974, and raised in the Virgin Islands, in his formative years, Rogers, began with the clarinet, experimented with the piano, drums and guitar, but found his true passion in the bass. Rogers’ musical education is punctuated by numerous outstanding student awards, most notably, a scholarship endowed by the Fish Middleton Jazz Society, also he earned his Bachelor of Music in 1997 from Berklee College of Music. He has enjoyed the opportunity of intense musical relationships with jazz artists of world-renown, such as Wynton Marsalis, Roy Hargrove, Joshua Redman, Marcus Roberts, Nicholas Payton, Mulgrew Miller, Jackie McLean, Charles Lloyd and Dianne Reeves. He has toured extensively all over the globe, and has recorded on over 70 CDs. Greg Hutchinson, born in Brooklyn, Jazz Magazine describes him as “the drummer of his generation” and indeed,

Gregory Hutchinson is one of the most highly respected musicians of our time. His mastery of timing and expression of rhythms is at the core of his personal style. He quickly became known as a young phenom in the jazz community sharing the stage with the likes of not only Rodney, but Betty Carter, and Ray Brown, while still in his early twenties. He collaborates with some of the great orginators of jazz music: Dianne Reeves, Betty Carter, Wynton Marsalis, John Scofield, Roy Hargrove, Charles Lloyd, Diana Krall, Harry Connick Jr, Joshua Redman, Christian McBride and Maria Schneider as well as many other’s.

1. October 10th (G.Lusi)
2. Out Of My Lips (G.Lusi)
3. I Remember Three Things (G.Lusi)
4. Bavin (G.Lusi)
5. Isn’t A New Day? (G.Lusi)
6. Another Note (G.Lusi)
7. One for Sylvie (G.Lusi)
8. Mother (G.Lusi)
9. Never Fault Behind The Scenes (G.Lusi)

Gianluca Lusi (saxes)
Andrea Rea (piano)
Reuben Rogers (double bass)
Gregory Hutchinson (drums)


Joe Gordon Last Sessions - Lookin' Good! + Awakening!! (2 Lps On 1 Cd) 2015

Born in Boston, Mass. in 1928, trumpeter Joe Gordon was one of the two local musicians—Dick Twardzik was the other—with whom Bird said he enjoyed playing.. On the East coast, he worked with such notables as Parker, Monk, Horace Silver, Art Blakey, Dizzy Gillespie and Herb Pomeroy, recording his first album as leader in 1954. Facing into a musically brilliant career, but with a problem-filled and heroin-plagued personal life, in 1958 he moved to Los Angeles, where he soon became a valued member of the West Coast jazz scene,working as a sideman and joining Shelly Manne for about two years. He also toured the coast with Thelonious Monk.

Despite his problems, Gordon was well-liked and respected. He had a clean, crisp attack with a bright, brassy sound and a singing quality that made his solos flow easily. His July 1961 album “Looking’ Good!” reflects these considerable virtues and, in addition, introduced the hard-toned, fervid alto sax of Jimmy Woods.

The other sides—with Woods’ group from his album “Awakening!”—were recorded in September that year. They were the last he made before his untimely death. According to his fellow musicians, “he was playing better than ever” when his tiny apartment caught fire and he received severethird-degree burns. He died at Santa Monica Hospital, on November 4, 1963, aged just 35. Read More...


01. Terra Firma Irma 7:43
02. A Song for Richard 5:02
03. Non-Viennese Waltz Blues 4:12
04. You’re the Only Girl 
in the Next World for Me 4:02
05. Co-op Blues 5:57
06. Mariana 4:10
07. Heleen 4:02
08. Diminishing 5:06
09. Anticipation 4:01
10. Love for Sale 6:36
11. A New Twist 3:37
12. Awakening 4:05
13. Circus 4:21

Compositions by Joe Gordon (#1-18), Cole Porter (#10), Jimmy Woods (#9,11,12) and Louis Alter & Sidney Keith Russell (#13)


Tracks #1-8, from the Joe Gordon album 
“Lookin’ Good!” (Contemporary S7597)

Tracks #9-13, from the Jimmy Woods album 
“Awakening!!” (Contemporary S7605)

Personnel on "Lookin' Good!"

Joe Gordon, trumpet, Jimmy Woods, alto sax; Dick Whittington, piano; Jimmy Bond, bass; Milt Turner, drums.

Recorded at Contemporary’s Studio, Los Angeles, July 11,12 & 18, 1961

Personnel on "Awakening!!"

Joe Gordon, trumpet (#9,10); Martin Banks (#10,11,12), trumpet; Jimmy Woods, alto sax; Amos Trice, piano; Jimmy Bond, bass; Milt Turner, drums.

Recorded at Contemporary’s Studio, Los Angeles, September 13, 1961

Original recordings produced by Lester Koenig
Sound engineer: Roy DuNann 
Cover photograph by Roger Marshutz

This CD release produced by Jordi Pujol

Stereo · 24-Bit Digitally Remastered

-Lookin' Good!

"Joe Gordon did not live long, only making it to 35. His second of two recordings as a leader (originally released by Contemporary) finds him on the verge of leading his own group. Gordon wrote all eight of the selections and is joined by adventurous but obscure altoist Jimmy Woods, pianist Dick Whittington, bassist Jimmy Bond, and drummer Milt Turner. Although the solos are generally more memorable than the tunes, this is an excellent effort that hints at what might have been had Joe Gordon lived."


"Altoist Jimmy Woods, whose style fell between hard bop and the avant-garde, only recorded two albums as a leader; this reissue brings back his first. The backup musicians include Joe Gordon or Martin Banks on trumpet, Amos Trice or Dick Whittington on piano, Jimmy Bond or Gary Peacock on bass, and drummer Milt Turner, but Woods is by far the most advanced musician. On six of his originals, an obscurity, and "Love for Sale," Jimmy Woods' original sound and passionate, chance-taking style make one wonder why he was never able to really make it; his music has not really dated."

Both by Scott Yanow -All Music Guide