jueves, 5 de marzo de 2015

Tim Warfield - Spherical (Dedicated to Thelonious Sphere Monk) 2015

Tim Warfield's eighth Criss Cross leader recording Spherical, which references the middle name of its primary subject, immortal jazz pianist-composer Thelonious Sphere Monk, is the tenor/soprano saxophonist's most idiosyncratic and personal document to date.

To be specific, Warfield and an efflorescent quintet of virtuoso teamplayers (Eddie Henderson, trumpet; Orrin Evans, piano; Ben Wolfe, bass; Clarence Penn, drums) personalize six Monk compositions (Off Minor, Ugly Beauty, Oska T, Gallop's Gallop, Coming on the Hudson, and Round Midnight) and That Old Man (which Monk recorded as "Children's Song" in 1964), as well as an original Warfield blues dedicated to Monk's first employer, Coleman Hawkins.

All members improvise with a creative force that shows the depth of their engagement with the essence of these masterworks; the will to swing defines the proceedings throughout.

1. Blue Hawk (Tim Warfield)
2. Oska T (Thelonious Monk)
3. That Old Man (traditional)
4. Gallop's Gallop (Thelonious Monk)
5. Off Minor I (Thelonious Monk)
6. Ugly Beauty (Thelonious Monk)
7. Coming On The Hudson (Thelonious Monk)
8. Off Minor II (Thelonious Monk)
9. 'Round Midnight (Thelonious Monk / Cootie Williams / Bernie Hanighen)

Tim Warfield (Ts / Ss)
Eddie Henderson (Tp)
Orrin Evans (P)
Ben Wolfe (B)
Clarence Penn (D)

Recorded October 30, 2014 in Brooklyn, NY, USA by Michael Marciano

Alex Sipiagin - Balance 38 - 58 (2015)

Label: Criss Cross
Source: Ukvibe
Gab's Rating: ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆      

“Balance 38-58″ just oozes class. And so it should one might say, but that’s not always the case when a group of stellar musicians such as we have here, get together to record. There has to be direction, unity and balance to go alongside any individual talent. We have it here, in spades. Trumpeter Alex Sipiagin’s 11th outing as band leader for Criss Cross Jazz is a well constructed affair, with excellent performances all round. Sipiagin is joined by David Binney (alto and soprano sax), Adam Rogers (guitar), John Escreet (piano), Matt Brewer (bass) and Eric Harland (drums). Together the sextet weave their majic through five Sipiagin and two Binney compositions. The opener and title track refers to Sipiagin’s recent travels in Asia and more specifically Taiwan. There are two Taiwanese drinks, one is 38 percent and the other 58 percent. As with life in general, according to Sipiagin, the important thing is finding a balance – couldn’t agree more. Sipiagin excels throughout, on both trumpet and flugelhorn, exhibiting skilful solos, subtle and energetic. The band works well as a unit, with some superb performances and harmonious playing. I particularly enjoyed the tracks “Echoes of thought” and “Yragon”; wonderful pieces brilliantly executed. My only small gripe from a cohesive album point of view is track five; “Balance”. Although the (almost rock) driven guitar-led track is excellent in itself, for me it doesn’t sit at all comfortably with the rest of the album.
There are times on this studio recording when Sipiagin is on fire. To this end I for one would love to see him perform live. Those of you in London on Wednesday night (18th Feb) will be fortunate enough to get the chance to do so. Ronnie Scott’s hosts a great line-up for this gig, led by Sipiagin’s fellow compatriot, saxophonist Zhenya Strigalev. Exciting London label Whirlwind Records present a mouth-watering evening’s entertainment. Performing with Alex Sipiagin and Zhenya Strigalev are Liam Noble, Eric Harland, Linley Marthe and Matt Penman. Collectively they are Zhenya Strigalev’s Smiling Organizm, and they will be celebrating the release of their second album “Robin Goodie”. St Petersburg born Stregalev is rapidly becoming known for his high-octane, hard swinging post bop playing. So with Alex Sipiagin alongside him, it should be a killer of a gig.

1.     38-58 (Alex Sipiagin)
2.     Way To Her (Alex Sipiagin)
3.     Momentum (Alex Sipiagin)
4.     Echoes Of Thought (Alex Sipiagin)
5.     Balance (Alex Sipiagin)
6.     Yragon (David Binney)
7.     Trio Whale (David Binney)

Alex Sipiagin (Tp / Flh)
David Binney (As / Ss)
Adam Rogers (G)
John Escreet (P)
Matt Brewer (B / El B)
Eric Harland (D)

"Master your instrument, master the music 
& then forget all that & just play."
 - Charlie Parker -


Mario Pavone - Street Songs (2014)

Source: playscape recordings

Playscape Recordings is proud to release "Street Songs" (PSR #070713), lead by veteran bassist/composer Mario Pavone, along with trumpeter Dave Ballou, pianist Peter Madsen, Steve Johns on drums and newcomers Carl Testa on bass and Adam Matlock on accordion. Following Pavone's last CD, Arc Trio, recorded live at the Cornelia Street Cafe in New York City, Pavone goes back into the studio with "Street Songs", recorded at Firehouse 12 Recording Studio in nearby New Haven, Connecticut. Pavone, inspired by his early memories of "stoop music" while growing up in the multicultural melting pot of Waterbury, Connecticut, pays tribute to the street-level music that influenced him in his early years. 

"Street Songs" features two bassists - a first for Pavone - and satisfies his long-standing desire to add accordion to the mix. "I've always wanted to do something with accordion, a reflection of my growing up in post-WWII industrial Waterbury, Connecticut," writes Pavone. "I can still recall the sound of those Italian, Portuguese and Polish accordions--that front stoop music." Street Songs includes five new compositions by Pavone and four additional arrangements by trumpeter Dave Ballou as well as past collaborator/trumpeter Steven Bernstein.

Mario Pavone - bass
Peter Madsen - piano
Steve Johns - drums
Dave Ballou - trumpet
Carl Testa - 2nd bass
Adam Matlock - accordion

1. Elkna
2. Streetsong
3. Cobalt Stories
4. Short Story
5. Alban Berg
6. Mythos
7. The Dom
8. Deez
9. Eyto