viernes, 3 de octubre de 2014

Adam Meckler Orchestra - When the Clouds Look Like This (2014)

Source: bandcamp

Adam has toured all over the world as a performer with bands such as Youngblood Brass Band, Jack Brass Band, Jana Nyberg Group, Lulu's Playground, and A Love Electric (Ropeadope Records). He releases his Debut album with the Adam Meckler Orchestra, When the Clouds Look Like This, in Fall of 2014.

Adam Meckler: trumpet
Tom Krochock: trumpet
Sten Johnson: trumpet
Cameron Kinghorn: trumpet
Noah Ophoven Baldwin: trumpet
Keith Hilson: trombone
Nick Syman: trombone
Mason Hemmer: trombone
Jenn Werner: trombone
Nelson Devereaux: alto saxophone, soprano saxophone
David Hirsch: alto saxophone
Ben Doherty: tenor saxophone
Shilad Sen: tenor saxophone
Angie Hirsch: baritone saxophone
Steven Hobert: piano (3, 5, 6)
Joe Strachan: piano (1, 2, 4)
Trent Baarspul: guitar
Adrian Suarez: drumer (1, 2, 4)
Peter Hennig: drums (3, 5, 6)
Graydon Peterson: bass (1, 2, 4)
Chris Bates: bass (3, 5, 6)

1. Busta Jones
2. Skyline
3. Sparkly Eyes
4. When The Clouds Look Like This
5. Open Your Eyes
6. Beautiful Beatrice


Gilad Hekselman - This Just In (2013)

The trio format can either be a jazz guitarist’s best friend or worst enemy. On one hand, it allows freedom—both harmonic and rhythmic—to reign supreme. In less capable hands, it comes off as more of a sink-or-swim proposition. With guitarist Gilad Hekselman’s latest output as a leader, This Just In, he not only embraces the freedom of the format, but also excels both as an improviser and composer.

Hekselman’s muscular, warm tone propels this collection of intricately arranged tunes. Focusing on mostly originals—with the two covers being Don Grolnick’s “Nothing Personal” and Alan Parsons’ “Eye in the Sky”—Hekselman explores each corner with a devout curiosity. Combining beautifully dissonant chord stabs with his admirable legato technique, he brings to mind both the conceptual nature of early Scofield tracks mixed with the forward propulsion of some of Pat Martino’s best work.

The mellow fingerstyle work on “Dreamers”—which demonstrates how tonally rich Ken Parker’s archtops can be—shows a subtle but more introspective side of Hekselman’s abilities. Even within the somewhat crowded NYC jazz scene, Hekselman is near the head of the pack in terms of tone, chops, and a deep sense of melodicism. Although this might not be his most engaging album as a leader, he’s definitely someone to keep an eye on.

Bass – Joe Martin
Composed By – Alan Parsons (tracks: 10), Dan Grolnick (tracks: 9), Eric Woolfson (tracks: 10), Gilad Hekselman (tracks: 1 to 8, 11 to 13)
Drums – Marcus Gilmore
Guitar, Synthesizer [Synths], Glockenspiel – Gilad Hekselman
Producer – Gilad Hekselman
Recorded By, Mixed By, Mastered By – Michael Perez-Cisneros
Tenor Saxophone – Mark Turner (tracks: 2, 9, 13)

01 Above
02 Newsflash #1
03 This Just In
04 Newsflash #2
05 The Ghost Of The North
06 Newsflash #3
07 March Of The Sad
08 Newsflash #4
09 Nothing Personal
10 Eye In The Sky
11 Newsflash #5
12 Dreamers
13 This Just Out


Gilad Hekselman - Hearts Wide Open (2011)

Source: criticaljazz

Gilad Hekselman is perhaps the finest example of why I go back and review releases that are not exactly new...While not six months old, Hearts Wide Open has received well deserved critical acclaim and with a new release in the offering later this summer this is still a release deserving of attention.

For the uninitiated Hekselman is guitarist originally from Israel and currently residing in New York City. But who does he sound like? While that question continues to annoy more than one can possibly imagine the best explanation is that his sound has been compared to Pat Metheny and Kurt Rosenwinkel. The best answer is that Hekselman sounds like himself, a searching artist with a keen harmonic sense and the technical proficiency to place him at the top of heap of budding six string jazz stars.

Hearts Wide Open is Hekselman's third release but first release to feature all original compositions. The 4tet is rounded out with Mark Turner on tenor saxophone, Joe Martin on bass and Marcus Gilmore on drums. "Hazelnut Eyes" which essentially opens the release sets a nice melodic mood for deceptively subtle yet harmonically deep release. Turner and his tenor saxophone join in on "One More Song" where the true working band feel begins to take shape. Gilmore provides an infectious groove and lays in the pocket quiet well as Turner and Hekselman take extended solo's on a lyrically driven gem. "Hearts Wide Open" is the title track and an expansive piece occasionally bordering on the cinematic without every approaching the dangerous self indulgent level. The tune develops in a very natural progression with nothing forced. Less is more and notes are not wasted by anyone is this formidable 4tet. It is perhaps Hekselman's comping ability as a guitarist and his unique approach to the instrument that is heavily influenced from his main influences which include Ahmad Jamal, Bill Evans and more recently Keith Jarrett and Brad Mehldau. Given the influences listed, Hekselman's harmonic proficiency is certainly understandable.

An incredibly solid and extremely consistent offering from Hekselman has this critic incredibly anxious for the next release due out later this summer. Most people expect a jazz critic to either own or have heard every release currently available. In the day of the digital download and an artist driven marketplace there are the odd releases that slip past us. Hearts Wide Open is certainly worthy of critical acclaim and is a release well worth your time to rediscover.

01 Prologue
02 Hazelnut Eyes
03 One More Song
04 Flower
05 Brooze
06 Hearts Wide Open
07 The Bucket Kicker
08 Understanding
09 Will You Let It?
10 Epilogue

Gilad Hekselman – Guitar
Mark Turner – Tenor Saxophone
Joe Martin – Bass
Marcus Gilmore – Drums

September October 11th, 2011 on Le Chant du Monde Records


DR Big Band with Adrien Moignard - Celebrating Django Reinhardt (2010)

Celebrating Django Reinhardt - DR Big Band with Adrien Mogniard. 2010 is the year European jazz legend, Django Reinhardt would have turned 100 years. On 'Celebrating Django Reinhardt', DR Big Band is celebrating the music of the legend, together with the young new guitar star of France, Adrien Moignard. The album features a swinging big band and virtuoso guitarist performing brand new arrangements, that all would make Django Reinhardt proud and his fans delight.

Adrien Moignard: guitar
DR Big Band

01. Appel Indirect
02. Ou Es-Tu, Mon Amour
03. How High The Moon
04. Nuages
05. Belleville
06. Les Feuilles Mortes
07. Blues En Mineur
08. C'est Si Bon
09. Impressions
10. Det Var En Lørdag Aften