lunes, 22 de septiembre de 2014

Reggie Padilla - They come and they go (2014)

Label: Pass Out Records

Good jazz albums aren’t common in the Hawaii recording industry. Tenor saxophonist Reggie Padilla’s second album, “They Come And They Go,” is one of those welcome rarities. Padilla made an impressive transition from studio sideman and band member to solo artist with the release of his first solo album, “Almost Home,” 18 months ago. He builds on that solid foundation with this one.
Padilla’s compositions use the same four instruments — sax, the other three are drums, bass and piano — but he’s working with two new musicians. Romain Collin (piano) and Shawn Conley (bass) join Padilla and drummer Abe Lagrimas, Jr., in bringing his compositions to life. To use an old-time term, they’re a great combo.
Conley and Lagrimas are a solid rhythm section. Padilla gives them plenty of room to stretch out as soloists.
A tune titled “Don’t Forget to Smile” is the first several showcase numbers for them. Conley’s opening solo on a song titled “Count on Me” is another memorable piece of work. Collin cooks whether playing accents or taking a solo.
The uptempo songs are great music for driving when traffic is not an issue. The mellow tracks are soothing and romantic. Padilla’s work as a musician and as an arranger deserves attentive listening on headphones or “earbuds” to fully appreciate.  - John Berger -

1. + 05:44
2. Don't Forget To Smile 06:15
3. They Come And They Go 08:46
4. Count On Me 09:18
5. Lullaby For Three Or More 02:45
6. Chicken And Peanuts For Kenny 07:07
7. The Second Round 05:43
8. Number 6 08:34
9. Another Day 06:48

Reggie Padilla (saxophone)
Romain Collin (piano) 
Shawn Conley (bass)
Abe Lagrimas Jr. (drums)

"The most important thing I look for in a musician,
 is whether he knows how to listen."
  - Duke Ellington -