domingo, 3 de febrero de 2013

Chris Potter - The Sirens (2013)

Not only is Chris Potter a virtuoso of the saxophone, but he seems able to step at will into any contemporary jazz genre and make himself at home. This is his first ECM album as leader and it comes complete with a touch of the glossy austerity that is that label's house style. Throughout the suite of nine pieces, inspired by The Odyssey, the spare lyricism of Potter's playing sometimes diverts attention from his sheer technical brilliance and the acuteness of his band is quite remarkable. Even so, a certain monotony tends to dull the edge before the end.

Chris Potter - soprano & tenor sax, bass clarinet
Craig Taborn - piano
David Virelles - prepared piano, celeste, harmonium
Larry Grenadier - double bass
Eric Harland - drums

1. Wine Dark Sea
2. Wayfinder
3. Dawn (With Her Rosy Fingers)
4. The Sirens
5. Penelope
6. Kalypso
7. Nausikaa
8. Stranger At The Gate
9. The Shades


Wine Dark Sea